Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Posted by on Dec 18, 2010 in Politics, Society | 0 comments

DADT Senate Vote

The Senate voted 65-31 to repeal the military’s Don’t Ask Don’t Tell policy today, a Clinton-era response to the Reagan Administration discharge of 17,000 troops for being gay.

Here’s the vote, 63 to 33, to proceed with debate on the bill. Once there is a report of the final vote (the two Republicans who, it seems, changed their vote), I will update this.

Final Vote

Voting yes:

  • Fifty-seven members of the Senate Democratic caucus; Joe Manchin III (D-WV) was not present and did note vote.
  • Eight cross-over Republicans:
    1. Brown (R-MA)
    2. Burr (R-NC) – did not vote for cloture
    3. Collins (R-ME)
    4. Ensign (R-NV) – did not vote for cloture
    5. Mark Kirk (R-IL)
    6. Murkowski (R-AK)
    7. Snowe (R-ME)
    8. Voinovich (R-OH)

Voting no:

  1. Alexander (R-TN)
  2. Barrasso (R-WY)
  3. Bennett (R-UT)
  4. Bond (R-MO)
  5. Brownback (R-KS)
  6. Chambliss (R-GA)
  7. Coburn (R-OK)
  8. Cochran (R-MS)
  9. Corker (R-TN)
  10. Cornyn (R-TX)
  11. Crapo (R-ID)
  12. DeMint (R-SC)
  13. Enzi (R-WY)
  14. Graham (R-SC)
  15. Grassley (R-IA)
  16. Hutchison (R-TX)
  17. Inhofe (R-OK)
  18. Isakson (R-GA)
  19. Johanns (R-NE)
  20. Kyl (R-AZ)
  21. LeMieux (R-FL)
  22. Lugar (R-IN)
  23. McCain (R-AZ)
  24. McConnell (R-KY)
  25. Risch (R-ID)
  26. Roberts (R-KS)
  27. Sessions (R-AL)
  28. Shelby (R-AL)
  29. Thune (R-SD)
  30. Vitter (R-LA)
  31. Wicker (R-MS)

Three Republicans — Jim Bunning (KY), Judd Gregg (NH) and Orrin Hatch (UT) — were not present and did not vote.

Source: Washington Post and FOX